Editing Time Records in the Timesheet

Important

  • Editing your own time records requires the Edit Own Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs.

  • Editing time records for other team members requires the Edit All Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs.

  • Users with the Manage Team permission and the Manage Team Worklogs permission can make changes to team member's time records in the user's timesheet after the scheduler has closed the timesheet period

You can edit time records from the Timesheet view -- whether in the My Work, Teams or Accounts tabs -- as long the timesheets are within an open period. In any of the timesheet views, clicking on cells provides you with a way to edit the number of hours logged quickly and easily. If you need to do more advanced editing, you can use the ellipsis (....) button to pull up additional editing options, including moving logged hours to another issue, splitting the hours between two issues and deleting time records.

To edit time records:

  • Open the Timesheet from My Work My_Work.pngTeams Teams__1_.png, or Accounts Accounts.png.

  • If you're editing a team member's time records, switch to their timesheet using the Name list in the upper-left.

Editing Time Records in the Days View

Tip

It is also possible to follow the same steps in the Weeks, Months and Quarters views.

  1. Set the view to Days view in the upper toolbar.

  2. In the timesheet, click the cell for the Jira issue and date you want to edit. A box appears with fields you can edit.

    2019-04-02_14-13-09.png
  3. Edit the time record information in any of these ways, such as correcting the number of hours that were logged on the issue:

    • Change the Date, Description, and Logged hours worked by clicking the fields and changing the entries. When you are finished, click Close.

    • Click the ellipsis (...) at the right side of the pop-up dialog, then select Edit. The Edit Time Record dialog box appears and you can update a wide range of fields, including billable hours and work attributes. Simply click Update to save the changes.

    Ways to move, edit, split and delete time records in the Timesheet view

Moving Logged Hours in the Days View

If time was logged on the wrong Jira issue, you can easily move the hours logged on that issue to another issue. This will save you from having to delete the time record and create a new one.

  1. Click the ellipsis (...) at the right side of the pop-up dialog, then select Move worklog.

  2. In the Move Worklog dialog box, select the issue to which you want to move the hours.

  3. Enter a new remaining estimate for the target issue, if needed.

  4. Click Move. The time logged is moved to the issue you selected.

Splitting Time Records in the Days View

Splitting allows you to divide the hours from one time record between two Jira issues.

  1. Click the ellipsis (...) at right, then select Split.

  2. In the Split Worklog dialog box, select the issue with which you want to split the hours.

  3. In the Worked box, select hours that should be logged on the target issue.

  4. Enter a new remaining estimate for the target issue, if needed.

  5. Click Split. The time is divided between both issues. 

Deleting Time Records in the Days View

Important

  • Deleting your own time records requires the Delete Own Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs.

  •  Deleting time records for other team members requires the Delete All Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs. 

  1. Click the ellipsis (...) at right, then select Delete.

  2. In the confirmation box, click Delete.

Editing Time Records in the Overview

Important

  • Editing work attributes, billable, and worked hours in timesheets requires the Edit Own Worklogs permission for the project to which the time record belongs.

  • Editing billable hours also requires the Set Billable Hours permission for the project to which the time record belongs.

In addition to the Days, Weeks, Months and Quarters views, it is also possible to edit, move, split and delete time records directly in timesheets when you are in the Overview view.

  1. Set the view to Overview in the upper toolbar.

  2. In the Group by field, select Worklog.

  3. From the Overview menu, select the work attributesBillable, or Logged options that you would like to display in the timesheet.

  4. In the timesheet, click directly in a cell for the Billable, Logged, or the work attributes and enter new values.

  5. Alternatively, you can click the ellipsis (...) at the right and select Edit. The Edit Time Record dialog will appear and you can edit fields as needed.

Edit_timesheets_in_overview_view.jpg

Moving, Splitting, and Deleting Time Records in the Overview

The steps to move, split and delete time records in the Overview are the same as those listed above for the Days view. The only difference is that the ellipsis (....) is accessed from the far right side, as seen in the image above.