Editing Your Time Records in a Jira Issue

Abstract

How to edit your time records in a Jira issue

Important

  • Editing your own time records requires the Edit Own Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs.

  • Editing time records for other team members requires the Edit All Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs.

The Tempo panel in the Jira issue view includes a list of time records for the selected issue. You can edit these records as long they are within an open period. You can change the hours logged, move logged hours to another issue, split the hours between two issues, and delete time records.

To edit time records in the Jira Issue view, click the ellipsis.png at the right end of the time record you want to edit, and then select an option: Edit, Split, or Delete.

Note that Move has been removed and you can now use Edit to move the logged hours in a time record from one Jira issue to another - see below.

tempo-panel-edit-menu.jpg

Tip

You can press the g+t keys to quickly go to My Work where you can also edit your time records, as well as manage your time.

Editing the Time Record Information

You can edit any time record information in the Edit Time Record form, such as if incorrect amount of hours was logged on the incorrect Jira issue was selected.

  1. Click the ellipsis.png at the right end of a time record and select Edit.

  2. In the Edit Time Record form that opens (which is similar to the Log Time form), make the necessary changes to the date, duration, Jira issue key, and so on.

  3. Click Update to save your changes.

Member_jira_edit_time.gif
Moving Logged Hours to Another Jira Issue

If you logged time on the incorrect Jira issue, you can move the hours logged on that issue to another one by editing the time record as described above. This will save you from deleting the time record and creating a new one.

  1. Click the ellipsis.png at the right end of a time record whose Jira issue you want to change and select Edit.

  2. In the Issue Key dropdown at the top, select the issue to which you want to move the hours.

  3. Click Update to save your changes. The logged hours are moved to the issue you selected.

Splitting Time Records between Two Issues

Splitting allows you to divide the time logged in a time record between two Jira issues.

  1. Click the ellipsis.png at the right end of a time record and select Split.

  2. In the Split Worklog dialog, select the issue with which you want to share the logged hours.

  3. In the Worked box, select the number of hours that should be logged to the target issue.

    tempo_panel_split_dialog.jpg
  4. Enter a new remaining estimate for the target issue, if needed.

  5. Click Split. The time is divided between the current Jira issue and the target issue. 

Deleting Time Records

Important

  • Deleting your own time records requires the Delete Own Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs.

  • Deleting time records for other team members requires the Delete All Worklogs permission for the project to which the issue belongs.

  1. Click the ellipsis.png at the right end of a time record and select Delete.

  2. In the confirmation box, click Delete.