Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

Closing and Opening Timesheet Periods Manually

Closing and opening timesheet periods require the Tempo Administrator permission.

The monthly timesheet periods you configure on the Period Configuration page are displayed on the Period Management page. Here, you can close or open timesheet periods for everyone using Tempo. This is something that your accounting team will probably do since it affects month-end activities such as payroll and customer billing.

Close or Open Timesheet Periods Manually

  1. Select Settings in the Tempo sidebar.

  2. Make sure that the monthly timesheet periods are configured in Period Configuration.

  3. Under Periods, select Period Management.

  4. By default, all periods for the current year are listed here, as defined by the settings in Period Configuration. You can select a different year from the drop-down at the top-right.

    When you configure timesheet periods in Period Configuration, you start them in either December or January. Even if you're past those months, the timesheet periods are created for the whole year. We recommend that you close the past timesheet periods so that nobody mistakenly logs time to them.

  5. Select a status for the periods:

    • Open for all - anyone can log time or edit their worklogs during this period. This is what you usually want for the current and future periods.

      set status of periods.jpg

    • Open for approvers - Only those with the Approve Timesheets permission for one or more teams can log time during this period, edit their team members' timesheets, and approve timesheets. The timesheets are locked for team members, but they can submit timesheets to the closed period.

      If you are a Team Lead, you cannot approve your own timesheet and must select a reviewer when you submit your timesheet. If no Reviewers are available in the drop-down, you must be added to a team with an approver or add an approver to your team by granting them the Approve Timesheets permission.

    • Closed for all - no one can log time, edit worklogs, or approve timesheets for this period. The timesheets are locked for everyone. Team members can submit timesheets to a closed period, but reviewers can't approve the timesheets unless you re-open the period.

  6. The settings are saved automatically.

Best Practices for Managing Timesheet Periods

  • It's best to leave current and future timesheet periods Open for all so that anyone can log time during these periods.

  • When the timesheet period is over, your accounting team can set the period to Open for approvers for a few days so that only those with the Approve Timesheet permission (such as a team lead or manager) can make changes to their team's timesheets or approve them. This allows team leads to make changes without requesting the period be re-opened.

  • After the team leads are done making changes, the accounting team can set the period to Closed for all so that nobody can make changes to the timesheets anymore for this period - the timesheets are essentially locked. This allows them to perform their month-end calculations, such as payroll and customer billing, more accurately since there aren't any changes to the logged time data.

  • A timesheet period can be manually re-opened for everyone - or only approvers -  to make changes to timesheets. We don't recommend doing this often.

  • If you're also using the Scheduler to close (freeze) periods automatically, you can grant grace periods to individual users to make changes to their timesheets after the Scheduler has closed. The period must be open in Period Management so a team member can make changes.

  • If many team members need to modify timesheets in closed time periods, or if you need to update multiple timesheets in closed periods, temporarily disable Period Management and, if applicable, the Scheduler to make the changes.

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.