Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

Sync Plans with Jira Issues

Some features are not yet available to all customers. To participate in Tempo's Early Access Program and gain access to this feature, visit our TempoLab page.

The Sync Plans with Jira Issues option provides a two-way sync between Tempo Planner and Jira.

When enabled, creating new issues in Jira can automatically create new Tempo plans; changing synced Tempo plans will update their related Jira issues, and changing Jira issues will update Tempo plans.

pl-settings-planning-time-jira-sync.png

Synced Data

When enabling Sync Plans with Jira Issues, you must tell Planner which Jira fields represent the following Tempo attributes for plans:

  • Plan start date

  • Plan end date

  • Total planned time

  • Assignee

These fields remain synced between Tempo and Jira.

For Team plans, the Assignee field must be a Tempo Team. Add the Tempo Team custom field to Jira to keep Team plans synced.

Selecting Jira fields

When choosing which Jira fields are used to sync with Tempo plans, keep the following in mind:

  • The field data types must match. You must select a date field in Jira to sync with a date attribute in Planner.

  • We recommend using the default, Original Estimate, Jira field for Total planned time in Tempo. If you want to use a different field, select a number field to sync.

    • When syncing this data between Jira and Planner, the time unit for the data is in seconds. The Total planned time in Tempo displays hours. When entering data in the selected number field in Jira, you must enter at least 60 to see time in the Total planned time field.

Plan Time Anywhere

Enabling Sync Plans with Jira makes Tempo plan data available outside of Planner. Planned time can now be viewed directly from Jira, as well as from any app that utilizes Jira fields - if the fields selected above are available in the app, then plan data is available.

Automatically Creating Plans from New Jira Issues

If Sync Plans with Jira Issues is enabled, when a new Jira issue is created, a new Tempo plan will also be created if the four fields selected for plan start date, plan end date, total planned time, and assignee are filled in.

Creating Plans from Existing Issues

If you’re enabling Sync Plans with Jira Issues for the first time, chances are you already have existing Jira issues. New plans will not be created automatically for these existing issues.

To create synced plans for issues created before Sync Plans with Jira Issues was enabled, do one of the following:

  • Create new plans for each issue in Planner.

  • If an issue is missing any of the synced fields listed above, add data to those fields - once there is data in all synced fields, a plan will automatically be created.

  • If all synced fields already have data, temporarily remove the data from a field, and then add it again.

Synced vs. Not Synced

When Sync Plans with Jira is enabled, users will see a simplified planning screen for synced plans. Once an issue is selected, the remaining fields will automatically be populated based on the existing values in Jira. If any values are missing, they must be filled in before saving the plan.

pl-sync-indv.png

When plans are synced with Jira:

  • Any changes made to the plan values in Jira or Planner will be synced with both automatically

  • Only one synced plan allocation can be made per Jira issue. Issues can have additional, unsynced plans.

  • Plans can only be created for issues

  • Plans can only be created for Jira users

  • Synced plans cannot be recurring plans

  • Synced plans cannot be deleted directly from the Planner screen - the plan will be automatically deleted if the issue is deleted or if one of the synced fields on the issue is changed to blank/no value.

Planning without sync

Users can also access the classic planning screen by clearing the “Sync this plan with Jira issue” option.

pl-clear-sync.png

When plans are not synced with Jira:

  • Many plan allocations can be made for a single Jira issue

  • Plans can be created for issues or projects

  • Plans can be created for generic resources or Jira users

  • Changes made in Planner will not update Jira

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.