Knowledge Base Articles

Sharing saved filters and groups in Structure

This article is for Structure Cloud.

Question

How can I share saved filters and groups in a Structure?

Answer

Users with permission to save filter or group transformations can share them for others to reuse. To be able to save a transformation, the Control access for the structure is required.
Saving a filter or group transformation does not automatically activate it for everyone.

  1. In the shared structure, open Filter / Group and configure the filter or group transformations.

  2. Use the option beside it to save the transformation. Once it is saved, users with access to the structure, can find it by clicking the Filter / Group button, and selecting the transformations on the list to enable it. Depending on how many saved filters and group transformations you have, users might need top search for the right one by its name.

  3. Alternatively, it is possible to share the structure with specific filter/group transformations already enabled in it by clicking Share | Copy link, and sharing the saved URL with other users. Once the structure is accessed via opening this link, it will open in the same state in which it was when the URl was created. This includes the structure's view, and its transformations enabled. Users can save this URL as a bookmark, and use it every time they need to open the structure.

Unsaved Filter / Group transformations exist only locally in your browser, and they get lost eventually, when the cache expires.

If a transformation must apply consistently to the structure for everyone, use a Filter or a Group Generator in the structure instead. Unlike transformations, generators change the structure for all users.