Time Tracker (Cloud)

Access Settings

Use these settings to configure which group and roles in your organization can access the different parts of Time Tracker products for Jira Cloud.

  • Auditors Groups: Select the groups allowed to see time spent by other users. To view others’ worklogs, users must be a member of this group. Other groups and roles are for visibility only.

To access Time Tracker, users need to be either part of the Auditors Groups or the Time Entry Issue Panel Groups.

If no groups are selected, users will receive an Authorization error message.

  • Auditors Roles: Select the roles allowed to see time spent by other users.

  • Accountants Groups: Select the groups allowed to see the Cost Report. This also allows users in the Time Entry Panel Groups to see the Cost Report.

  • Restricted Groups: Select the groups whose members can only view the time of other users within the Restricted Groups; they cannot view the time of any non-restricted groups.
    In the hierarchy of group levels, Restricted Groups serve as a limit on the amount of access a user has, regardless of their other groups or roles, as long as they are a member of the Jira groups selected as part the Restricted Groups.
    For example, a user in an Auditors Group, Auditors Role, and Restricted Group can only see another user’s timesheet if that user is part of a Jira group that’s part of the Restricted Groups, even though their Auditors Group and Role would normally let them view all users’ timesheets.

  • Log Work For Others Groups: Select the groups allowed to log work on behalf of other users.

  • Time Entry Issue Panel Groups: Select the groups that can use the Time Entry issue panel to record worked hours in real time.

  • Time Entry Issue Panel Projects: Select the projects that can see the Time Entry issue panel record worked hours in real-time.

Time Entry Issue Panel Groups and Time Entry Issue Panel Projects are related settings, so any selection in either is taken into account.

  • Default Worklog Visibility Group: Select the default groups to be set for Worklog Visibility.

  • Default Worklog Visibility Role: Select the default roles to be set for Worklog Visibility.