Tempo for Jira Cloud

Adding and Removing Members from Teams

Abstract

How to add and remove members from Tempo teams

Important

Adding and removing team members requires the Tempo Team Administrator permission or the Manage Team permission for the relevant team.

When you add members to a team, you can assign their role and time commitment for every team they are members of, as well as the dates when they join or leave the team.

To add a member to a team:

  1. Select Teams  Teams__1_.png in the Tempo sidebar.

  2. Select the team to which you want to add members from the list on the Teams page. The team's overview is displayed.

  3. Click the Add Member link at the bottom left.

  4. Start typing the name of the user you want to add to the team, and select their name from the matching results.

  5. Complete the Add Member form with the following information:

    Add_team_member.gif
    • Role - Select the role that the user will serve on the team. By default, member is selected. Tempo Team administrators can add new roles to this list.

    • Commitment - The percentage of the user's time to allocate to this team. The default is 100%.

    • Joining - Optional. Select the date the user will be joining this team.

    • Leaving - Optional. Select the date the user will be leaving this team.

  6. Click Save to add the new team member.

Tip

You can later edit the role, availability, and dates of team membership by clicking the team member in the People section on the team's overview.

Note

  • You can have users with multiple start/end dates and/or roles in the same team. The team's overview will always show the current member status, so that if a team member is added to the same team for different dates, only the team member's current member status is shown in the list of team members.

  • If a user is a member of multiple teams and has more than one role, only the role from the last team they joined will be visible in a Logged Time Report when you Group by Role.

Bulk Adding Members to a Team

To add a number of members to your team at once, you can use Jira user groups. The group members are added individually and you can edit their role, commitment, or joining and leaving dates afterwards.

  1. In the Teams Teams__1_.png view, select the team to which you want to add a Jira group.

  2. In the team overview, click Bulk Add Members at the bottom left. Here you can add Jira user groups. You also can add active directory groups.

  3. Start typing the name of the user group you want to add to the team, and select it from the matching results.

    Bulk add members to team
  4. When you have selected all the groups you want to add to the team, click Next.

  5. The dialog box will show how many users will be added to the team. Click Confirm to add these members to the team.

  6. You can click each member and assign them a role, define their time commitment to the team, and when they will be joining and leaving the team. 

Removing Members from a Team

If a team member is no longer working on the team's projects, you may want to remove them from the team.

  1. In the Teams Teams__1_.png view, select the team from which you want to remove members.

  2. Move the pointer over the team member you would like to remove and click the X beside their name(s).

    Remove members from team