Giving Access to Tempo Apps

Abstract

How to give access to Tempo Apps

Important

To grant or deny access to Tempo Timesheets  and Tempo Planner, you need the Jira Administrator permission.

When Tempo Timesheets for Cloud and/or Tempo Planner for Cloud are installed, all users with access to your Jira site are added to the jira-software-user group and are granted access to Tempo apps by default. Everyone can perform tasks and interact with Tempo according to their permissions and can access:

  • The Tempo menu and sidebar 

  • Tempo Gadgets

  • Tempo features in the Jira issue view

If you wish to grant access to a new group, or deny access to Tempo or to Tempo data to specific users or groups who have access to your Jira site, such as customers or external consultants, you can do so using the Tempo Timesheets Access and Tempo Planner Access permissions, as shown below.

Note

  • Because Tempo Teams and Tempo Accounts are core to both Tempo Timesheets and Tempo Planner, you must modify the access permissions for both Tempo Timesheets and Tempo Planner, even if you have only one of the products installed. This ensures that all Tempo data remains private.

  • Users or groups denied access will not see that Tempo is installed on their site, but developers with permission to access your Tempo data will not be affected.

To grant Tempo access to a group:

  1. Go to  Jira settingsSystem > Global permissions.

  2. At the bottom of the page, under Grant Permission, select Tempo Timesheets Access or Tempo Planner Access.

  3. Select the group to which you wish to grant access, then click Add.

To deny Tempo access to a group or individual users:

  1. Edit a default group to remove members from the group.

  2. Delete the group from the list. You cannot delete default groups.