Creating Team Permission Roles

Abstract

How to create and delete team permission roles and manage users associated with them

Important

Creating and deleting permission roles for a team requires the Manage Team permissions for the respective team.

Team permission roles let you grant specific team permissions to Tempo users for only that team. By default, each team has two default permission roles: Team Lead and Member. The Team Lead automatically gets the permission to view, manage, and approve all plans and worklogs, and also to manage the team. Members do not have any team permissions by default, but the Team Lead can grant permissions to them. 

Adding a permission role allows you to grant specific team permissions to multiple users at the same time, whether they are a part of the team or not. For example, you can give more or all permissions to a senior team member so that they are like a Team Lead.

Tip

You can also create multi-team permission roles from the Permission Roles page in Settings to quickly give access to data from multiple teams at once - find out how to do that in Permission Roles for Multi-Team and Full User Access. You need the Tempo Team Administrator permission to do this.

If any of these multi-team permission roles have been created and apply to your team, they will be visible in your team's Permissions page, but will be dimmed and uneditable. They can only be edited or deleted in the Permission Roles page.

To create a team permission role:

  1. Select Teams Teams__1_.png in the sidebar and select the team for which you want to create permission roles.

  2. In the team's page, click Permissions at the upper-right. If you don't see this option, click  More.

  3. On the team's permissions page, click + Add permission role at the upper-right.

  4. Enter a name for this permission role, and select the permissions this role should have.

  5. Click + Add users, then select the users who should have these team permissions.

  6. When you're done, click blue-checkmark.png to save the permission role.

    Permission_role.gif
  7. You can add more members to this permission role later by clicking + Add users and selecting them from the list.

Note

  • Team permission roles cannot be reused across teams: they're applied only for this team. To create multi-team permission roles, see Permission Roles for Multi-Team and Full User Access.

  • All permission roles are automatically granted the View team permission so that these users can see the team and its members

Deleting a Team Permission Role

Important

The default Team Lead and Member permissions roles cannot be deleted.

  1. Select Teams Teams__1_.png in the sidebar.

  2. In the Teams view, select the team for which you want to delete permission roles.

  3. On the team's page, click Permissions at the upper-right. If you don't see this option, click More.

  4. Select the permission role you want to delete, and then click red-delete-icon.png.

  5. Click Delete to confirm.

    Delete team permission roles