Managing Your Team's Permissions

Abstract

How to grant, edit and manage team permissions in Tempo

Important

Editing team permissions requires the Tempo Team Administrator permission or the Manage Team permission for the relevant team. By default, the Team Lead has the Manage Team permission for their own team.

Team permissions define how team leads and team members - and others - view and work with their time records (worklogs), timesheets, and plans. Permissions are applied using team permission roles that apply only to that team.

You can also create multi-team permission roles from the Permission Roles page in Settings to quickly give access to data from multiple teams at once - find out how to do that in Permission Roles for Multi-Team and Full User Access. You need the Tempo Team Administrator permission to do this.

Watch this video to find out more about how to set up Tempo team permissions:

To access team permissions:

  1. Select Teams Teams__1_.png in the Tempo sidebar.

  2. In the Teams view, select the team for which you want to edit permissions.The team's overview is displayed.

  3. Click Permissions at the upper-right.

  4. The Team Permissions page opens up where you can view and grant permissions, and create permission roles.

    To set the visibility of your team to others, see Setting a Team's Visibility to Others.

    Team_permissions.gif

Granting Team Permissions

Team permission roles let you manage who has permissions to do specific actions or view specific data for your team. By default, each team has two permission roles: Team Lead and Member:

  • The Team Lead automatically gets the permission to view, manage, and approve all plans and worklogs, and also to manage the team.

  • Members don't have any team permissions by default, but the Team Lead can grant permissions to them. For example, all team members could have the View plans permission to be able to see their co-workers' plans for work and time off.

Team_permission_roles.jpg

For a description of all available Team permissions for Tempo Timesheets and Tempo Planner, see Tempo Team Permissions.

Creating Permission Roles

Adding a new team permission role allows you to grant specific team permissions to multiple users at the same time, whether they are a part of the team or not. For example, you can give another manager the Approve timesheets and Approve plans permission to be your backup when you're gone. Or you can give most or all team permissions to a senior team member so that they're like a second-in-command Team Lead.

See Creating Team Permission Roles for more information on how to do this.