Creating Groups to Structure Issues in Your Project

Abstract

How to create groups to structure issues in your project

You can organize the Jira issues and epics that make up your project scope into groups. This lets you see your project in a higher-level structure that reflects your needs and preferences. This is especially useful when you wish to see total costs for a group of related issues, such as per department, per job role, or per milestone.

Danger

Jira NextGen epics are not currently supported in Cost Tracker because required data about Jira issue structure is missing from Atlassian.

When you create a group, you are simply creating a 'container' into which you can move Jira issues. You can also drag groups and issues dynamically to reorder them, and move issues from one group to another.

Each group header shows you the total number of issues in the group, and total cost and time spent. You can expand and collapse groups to show or hide details.

When you export your project data to a CSV file, the group information is included.

To create a group and move issues into groups:
  1. Click Groupings in the upper-right, then select Create Group and enter a name for the group. You can edit the group name inline. 

  2. Add Jira issues to the group:

  • Drag individual Jira issues into the group.

or

  • Check the boxes for multiple issues, then right-click and select Move to group, or select Create group to create the group and move the selected issues into it. You can also select Move to group from the Groupings menu in the upper-right.

    Multi-select groups
  • In the Move to group form, choose the group into which you want to move the issues, or create a new group if there aren’t any yet.

    Move to group
  • The selected issues are moved into that group.

    Group moved issues

To delete a group:

  1. Select the group you want to delete.

  2. Click Groupings and select Delete Group.

Notice

Only the group folder itself is deleted. Any Jira issues it contains are simply returned to the issues list.

Grouping by Epics

When you have a long list of tasks from different epics, it might be useful to group them into separate folders by their Epic link so that you can get a summary of the cost by Epic. 

  • Grouping by epic categorizes all tasks into folders by their epic links. 

  • The new folders are named after the Epic. For example, tasks with the UI improvements epic link will be grouped into a new folder named “UI improvements”. Tasks without an epic link won’t be moved.  

  • The ordering of tasks will be preserved.

  • Sub-tasks aren't included when grouping by epics.

  • New groups being created through Group by Epics will be located at the top of the scope list, in alphabetical order.

  • Group by Epics is only available for Jira Classic Projects.

Group by Epics in the Groupings menu

If you’ve already created your own group(s) containing tasks with epic links, then grouping by epic will create a separate group for those issues under the same epic name. Also, groups already named after Epics will not be recreated.

  • For example, if you’ve already created a folder (Coffee campaign onboarding) with tasks with the Express-oh Onboarding epic link, then grouping by epic will move those tasks into a new folder named Express-oh onboarding.

    Tasks with epic links that were manually grouped into groups will be moved to a new folder with the epic name.

Notice

Groups created through Group by Epics behave the same way as regular groups. This means that you can later move tasks in and out or reorder the tasks of any of these groups to your liking. But keep in mind that if you do group by epics again, then all tasks belonging to Epics that have been moved out of their Epic group will then be placed back into them. Similarly, changes done in Jira affecting the Epic of a project’s tasks will not automatically be reflected in the project’s scope structure.

Sync Scope

Once you’ve grouped any given project’s scope by Epics, Cost Tracker will automatically group all tasks by Epics on every subsequent Scope sync operation for that project.

  • If for any reason you’d like to stop grouping new tasks by epic on future Scope syncs, then you can uncheck the Group tasks by epics box in the Sync scope preview dialog. Your preference will be preserved for subsequent scope syncs on that project, for you and all collaborators.

Notice

Changing the scope of a project will also turn off grouping by Epics for that project.

Group_tasks_by_epics.jpg