Cost Tracker FAQs

How are costs calculated?

The hours used to calculate your costs come directly from time logged on Jira issues using Tempo Timesheets. Hours are multiplied by the the cost rate you set in Cost Tracker settings. 

Hours for subtasks of an issue are NOT automatically included: if you want to track hours from subtasks, the subtasks must be included as part of the scope of the Jira filter that you are using to create your project. Hours logged for the future are also not included.

Can I add new issues to my project?

Yes! You can sync your Tempo project to the Jira filter you used to define your project scope. Any new or deleted issues will be reflected in your Cost Tracker project.  

Can I change my project scope?

Yes! If you are the Project Owner - that is, the person who created the project - you can change the Jira filter you used for your project, and retain the groups you already created. This is especially useful if there are similar Jira filters and you selected the wrong one.

What is a 'calculated' timeframe?

The timeframe is calculated by default when you define your project scope. This means that the start and end dates for your project are set according to the earliest and latest dates on which a member of your project team logged time on any issue or added an expense, up to and including today's date. When a member of your team logs time or adds an expense - either on an earlier or later date, the start or end date for your project timeframe updates accordingly. For example, if someone forgot to log some of their time at the beginning of the project, then logs time on an earlier date, the start date for your project would be earlier. Time logged on a future date is not recorded in your project costs. 

When you set a fixed timeframe for your project, any time logged or expense added on an earlier or later date is not included in your costs. You can edit your Timeframe anytime, as required or revert to a calculated timeframe.

Does using Cost Tracker affect my Tempo Timesheets worklog data?

No. Cost Tracker has read-only access to Tempo Timesheets worklogs. You can view the data, but there is no risk of losing it and you cannot edit worklogs from Cost Tracker. 

Who can access Cost Tracker?

Only people who are granted the Tempo Cost Tracker Access global permission can access Tempo Cost Tracker. Jira administrators must add specific users to a group that is granted access to Tempo Cost Tracker. This is different from the Tempo Timesheets Access permission, where everyone with access to your Jira site is granted access to Tempo Timesheets by default, and can interact with it according to their permissions.